Original Series Destinations Stories Creative Services
About Us Press Room Our Partners Career Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Press Room

Contact us to receive our latest GOASEAN press releases.

13th March 2015

Malaysia Assumes ASEAN Chairmanship in 2015

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is composed of 10 countries committed to promoting peace, collaboration and development within the Southeast Asia region.


ASEAN was established on 8 August, 1967 with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration in Bangkok, Thailand.

Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand are the five original signatories of the ASEAN Declaration. Five more countries joined in the following years: Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Lao PDR, Myanmar and Cambodia.

The ASEAN Declaration outlined seven aims and purposes on cooperation in the economic, social, cultural, technical, educational and other fields, and in the promotion of regional peace and stability through abiding respect for justice and the rule of law and adherence to the principles of the United Nations Charter.


The Chairmanship of ASEAN rotates annually, based on the alphabetical order of the English names of its Member States.

A Member State assuming the Chairmanship shall chair the ASEAN Summit and related summits, the ASEAN Coordinating Council, the three ASEAN Community Councils, relevant ASEAN Sectoral Ministerial Bodies and senior officials, and the Committee of Permanent Representatives.

Malaysia, Chair of ASEAN for 2015

Malaysia is the Chair of ASEAN for 2015. The theme of its ASEAN Chairmanship is “Our People, Our Community, Our Vision.”

The logo for Malaysia’s Chairmanship of ASEAN in 2015 is made up of 10 coloured curved elements that form a circle around the ASEAN logo to reflect the harmony, close partnership and aspiration of the people from the 10 ASEAN countries aimed at achieving its shared vision.

The 10 curved elements also represent the atomic-molecular loop that denotes the progress made by ASEAN member countries in science and technology to bring about economic growth and prosperity.

The combination of multiple colours represents the diversity of talents of ASEAN people in various fields propelling their countries forward.

The colours in the logo reflect particular values:

  • Red for Boldness
  • Yellow for Prosperity
  • Blue for Peace and Stability
  • Green for Dedication and Close Rapport
  • Purple for Wealth, Wisdom and Intelligence

Supported By